Department of Neurology

Head of Department:
Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h. c. Stefan Schwab

Epilepsy Centre

Spokesman: OA Prof. Dr. med. Hajo Hamer

Everything at hand

The Epilepsy Centre is based at the Department of Neurology (Kopfkliniken), Universitätsklinikum Erlangen. The Departments of Neurology, Neurosurgery, Neuroradiology, Nuclear Medicine, Neuropathology, Neuropsychology and Radiation Oncology work closely together in one building.
Below, you can find information on our departments and institutions with which we have interdisciplinary collaborations.


Initial contact:

Our epilepsy outpatient clinic


For inpatient stays:

The monitoring unit
Video recording of patient behaviour and measuring brain activity

Appointments and coordination management:

Sofia Trapper
Maja Münchmeier



Social work unit :

Our social worker,
Ingrid Weber-Gomez


Psychological tests:




The biomagnetism facility

Interdisciplinary collaborations

Visualising the inside of the brain:

Imaging techniques

Removing the epilepsy focus:


Analysing the tissue removed:


Targeting the epileptogenic focus: